An odd message

I received this rather odd message the other day (Facebook is a truly strange system).

I’m not really sure what to make of it.  There are quite a few oddities:

  • The message comes from a “Jason Reeves”, who I do not recall (but my memory isn’t great, and it was 14 years ago).  A quick Google only turns up a Jason Reeves who works for a radio station in NZ (and wikipedia indicates that isn’t the same one).
  • The Facebook account is under the name “Jason Smith” (this name is also unfamiliar, although I think I would be more likely to remember the name “Reeves” than the name “Smith”).
  • I can’t find anything about the “NZER” organisation mentioned twice via Google.  It’s pretty odd for a modern company to be nowhere in the first few pages of Google results.  “NZER” is a bad name (because it clashes with “NZer”, as in “I am a NZer”), but even still it ought to have some sort of pagerank. (nzer.co.nz and nzer.org.nz and nzer.com do not seem relevant here).
  • I was indeed a Kamo High School student in 1996, and knew both Andrew and Simon (IIRC Andrew was only at KHS for a year or two).  I haven’t heard from/about either since.
  • What possible use could my opinion of people I knew 14 years ago be?  Even if there wasn’t such a gap in time, why would I as a peer be an appropriate person to make an academic evaluation?  Surely a teacher would be a more appropriate choice.

I replied – basically just asking for more information – so we’ll see what happens now.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Through an unrelated (perhaps?) matter, I learned last week that Andrew is has some international renown (http://www.google.com/search?q=Andrew+Prieditis) for tricking newspapers and has been convicted of fraud in NZ.

    It seems a rather large coincidence. Is Jason Smith actually Andrew? Is Smith researching Andrew for something fraud-related? Perhaps Smith received a letter and was trying to do background checking, unlike the newspaper editors?

    Since Andrew’s qualifications are in mathematics (IIRC he was particularly talented in that area even at school), perhaps he is legitimately involved in a “research & analytics” company?

  2. FWIW, I have yet to receive a reply to my request for more information – so I presume I never will.

  3. Posted by the Sentinel on December 4, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    I would say it is Andrew. He would ask the same question of me and I knew him as well. He is a very weird individual and not to be trusted. A shame how he turned out really. Talented in Maths but flawed personally.

  4. Sentinel: I knew him well as a friend from Uni (Waikato)…yep, he is very bright and has the ability to master any technical type job, probably extremely well. I hope he is doing well now. Frankly I don’t think ‘weird’ is an accurate description. A man with his own tastes and mind though, certainly. Personally I found his company better than most 🙂

  5. Posted by the Sentinel on March 30, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    Really you find someone who is a complete and utter narcissist better than most. Or the fact he is convicted of defrauding people or being a pathological liar. He still continued to lie after being convicted and sending messages in Facebook like the one mentioned by original poster is him being deluded and living in his own fantasy land. Nobody doubts his intelligence etc but who he was years ago to who he is now is someone who has changed not for the better. I surely hope he has changed since a few years ago.

  6. Posted by the sentinel on March 31, 2015 at 11:03 am

    Sadly it was brought to my attention that he passed away in Cusco, Peru. I hope he finds the peace he is looking for..http://peru.com/noticias-de-andrew-carl-prieditis-188728

  7. Posted by Larisa on April 5, 2015 at 10:49 pm

    Yes, very sadly he has passed away and he was someone’s brother, son, partner etc. However, we would never know 100% of what someone is going through until we have walked in their shoes for a day. He has found peace I believe.

Leave a Reply

