Collective Knowledge

Dad asked me today who my teachers were at Pukepoto Primary School, which I could partially answer, with help (I think: Mrs Travers in J1 and J2, Mr Jones in Standard 1, Mrs Bellingham in Standard 2, and Mr Wilkins in Standard 3 and 4, and apparently someone else as a new-entrant).

This is an example of knowledge that Google simply can’t give you, of course.  Except now it can – or at least will be able to when this page is indexed.  When I remember, I’ll try this query again (161 hits at the moment, none of them with the required information, although in eight of the pages the “Tony Meyer” is me) and see if it works.

We wondered if Wikipedia would have an entry for Pukepoto School, and while it doesn’t, there is a mention in the entry on Pukepoto (a stub – if I had more knowledge I’d expand it, but I don’t really know what substance I could add).

3 responses to this post.

  1. Although I did make a small correction to the page – it said that the roll was 128, but the TKI site indicates that it’s 77 now (I looked at the school website and was surprised to see that there are only three classes, which would have meant over 40 per class if the 128 was correct. Even 25-30 is on the high side.

    I think this means that the roll might be smaller than when I stared there in 1984 – I’m sure I remember it being close to 100 when I left at the end of 1989.

  2. […] While looking through links for my previous post, I found this one – which caught my eye in particular because it has my old postal address (also […]

  3. It took much less than a day. If you use that link (or a search like “Tony Meyer Pukepoto Primary teachers”, where the result is the top one) you’ll find the information you’re after. I feel the world is a richer place now.

Leave a Reply

